I’m Moving! OLW (One Little Word)

Let him that would move the world, first move himself. -SocratesIt’s June already? Wow! I can hardly believe that the year is nearly half over. This time of year always makes me reflect. I reflect on my original expectations for the year and see if those expectations are still relevant. I check in with myself to see what kind of progress I have made. This year my One Little Word (OLW) was Move, and so far I am moving like crazy! I love it! How am I moving you ask? Well, let me refer back to my original MOVE post where I defined what the word MOVE means:

-go in a specified direction or manner; change position.

**Well, I have certainly changed positions so far. I went from Entry-level to CEO in a day! Read about it here.

-change the place or position of.

**We have rearranged our home to make room for an office. Did I mention that I own a business now? Kind of a big deal!

Pretty Much Design Studio

-change one’s place of residence or work.

**I no longer work an hour and a half from home. In fact, I work in my pajamas at home! how cool is that?

-change or cause to change from one state, opinion, sphere, or activity to another.

**This one is pretty big: my surgery in March changed me from the state of dizziness to a more solid state. I went from employee to being the boss. I went from a technical job to a creative career, and I’ve gone from sedentary to mobile every day.

post-surgery-picture

-influence or prompt (someone) to do something.

**I’ve influenced small businesses to promote themselves in better ways, to brand themselves more cohesively, and be proud of their businesses. I’ve prompted my husband to do some soul-searching and discover his calling to study Criminal Justice and aim for a new career within the police force. I’ve also influenced my cousin to have an incredible wedding that she never could have dreamed of.

WhiteNoyes Photography Primary Logo

-take action.

**I’ve absolutely taken action against a boring life. I’ve worked toward my goals as a person, as a wife, and as a business owner.

-make progress; develop in a particular manner or direction.

**I’m making progress in my surgery recovery – I no longer need to use my cane to walk each day, I’m on the treadmill now, and I’m hoping to be driving again soon. Despite getting 3 weeks behind in school, I still managed to work hard and receive an A, 2 B’s and a C. Don’t mind that C: It comes from an instructor that excused me for my surgery, but then wouldn’t let me make up any work. Frustrating! I’ve made progress within my marriage by setting up time for my husband and I to spend time together. Each night we have a routine now. We eat dinner – often making it together, then we exercise (#OperationHBMB). Next we watch 2 hours of television or movies together, do the dishes together, and then get ready for bed together. Going to bed at the same time has made us feel closer.

I’m making progress with Pretty Much as well, because I finally have designed my finished logo, I’m working on the business cards, I have my ideas together for the stationary, the website is looking so much better, I’ve established a twitter and a Facebook page for the business, and I have clients!!!

-(with reference to merchandise) sell or be sold.

**I’m “moving” product! Yes, it’s not as much as I would like it to be, but the fact that I am moving products is a pretty big deal to me. I’m working each week to add more items to the shop as well. Have you seen the newest editions? I now have Save The Elephant prints in the shop. 50% of the sales will go to help save the elephants. In addition to that, I now offer even more wedding services. I have hard-bound books available!

Save the Elephants Printguestbook journal scrapbook sketchbook

-an action that initiates or advances a process or plan.

**Each day, I work on changing things, getting things just right, making a difference and going for my dreams.

-a player’s turn to make a change of position.

**It’s my move now! Every day is my move. Everything I do now will make or break me. It’s such an exciting time!

To summarize all of my MOVE achievements in the past 6 months:

After everything my body has gone through and continues to go through with my medical problems, I am moving toward better health. We have done a lot of talking about children lately, and I do want to have them. With my cardiovascular system not working the way it is supposed to and my balance system all wonky, this is not something we can do right now, so my ultimate goal is to get my body back to a state of health so that we can have children.  The husband and I have begun an adventure that we are calling Operation Healthy-Baby-Making-Body or #OperationHBMB if you follow me on twitter. I am moving my butt and getting back in shape. In order to do this, I am returning to a diet (read: lifestyle, not fad) that works for me. It gives me energy, keeps me feeling positive, and even makes me feel centered and balanced in this crazy world. With that energy I am able to physically move my body. I am working on walking every day. Some days are easier than others, but now that I have been cleared to get on the treadmill, I feel like I am making a lot more progress a lot more quickly.  I have also started doing more strength training.  So far, the weight has not gone down, but my balance, stability, and energy have all improved. My heart and veins are still not working right, but I have hope.

A second way in which I am moving deals with changing my career position. I have opened my own business, Pretty Much, and I want to grow it and grow it like a beautiful garden that blossoms with flowers and gives life to amazing healthy foods that nourish me. This business of mine is nourishing my soul and my mind by giving me a way to use my creative energies each day, making others’ dreams come true, and giving me a positive way to support my family. There will be a lot more on this subject later this year. Promise! You can help me with this by helping me “move some product” over at my Etsy shop!

Thirdly, I have been moving my mind. I have been going to school for so long. Every time I physically move locations across the United States, I loose credits in my schooling. It can be so frustrating! This year, I am back at it though with an online school that can travel with me. It was my second full semester at the Academy of Art University. This semester was very challenging for me with all the medical stuff going on, the surgery, and having to take so much time away from my studies. I found that the business suffered because school was so time-consuming, but I do not expect it to be like that in semesters to come. I’m looking forward to the ways my mind will stretch and the things I will fill my brain with. I absolutely love to learn!

In all of this, the basic plan has been to move forward in my life, to make good choices, to be happier, healthier, and more content with what I am doing. I am choosing to make mindful choices and always keep the idea of progress in the forefront of my mind. It’s my turn to move my chess piece. It’s my turn to become something better. It’s my turn to influence myself and start moving in the direction I want to end up in.

What is your One Little Word (OLW) this year? Leave me a comment!

Signature

Add your thoughts! Comment here!

